Food Network Lite's Blog

September 16, 2010

The Neely’s Potato Salad

I love potato salad. When I was a kid, the deli by our house made the best potato salad. We didn’t go there often, but whenever we went, my dad took home a little potato salad for me just cause he knew I loved it so much. (Thanks Dad!) As an adult, I had never really ventured into making it for myself. That is, until I came across this recipe from the Neely’s. It’s Grandma Jean’s recipe – the old-fashioned kind. You know, like Grandma used to make. I had to try it, but I gave it a modern (translate – healthy) makeover so I could eat it again and again!

Unlike your crazy neighbors, we’ve moved! We have a new page Thindulge, where we recreate all your favorite recipes, not just from Food Network, to be guilt free and now gluten free as well! Visit our YouTube page, like us on Facebook, follow us on Twitter @Thindulge and see us on Pinterest!

POTATO SALADAnthony J. Caruso

INGREDIENTS

5 large red potatoes, peeled and cut into small cubes

Salt

2 ribs celery, chopped

1/2 large onion, chopped

2 hard-boiled eggs, chopped

2 heaping tablespoons sweet pickle relish, drained

1/2 cup light salad dressing, (recommended: Miracle Whip Light)

3 tablespoons yellow mustard

1 tablespoon sugar substitute (recommended: Splenda with fiber)

Paprika, for garnish

DIRECTIONS

Boil cubed potatoes in salted water until they are tender. Drain and cool. In a large bowl add celery, onion, 2 eggs and pickled relish. Add the salad dressing, yellow mustard and sugar and salt, to taste. Stir well. Sprinkle with paprika and salt. Let the potato salad chill in the refrigerator for 2 1/2 hours or overnight.

Here’s the skinny:

First, I took out one hard boiled egg. The removed egg was just used for garnish. My rule of thumb is you never garnish with fat. If you’re going to put fat in the dish, put it IN the dish, not on it. I garnished the salad with paprika instead.

Also, I used a light salad dressing instead of the regular fat filled variety. You don’t notice a taste difference and if you’re not going to notice the difference, then why throw it in?

Lastly, I used sugar substitute instead of actual sugar to make it that much more healthy.

I hope you enjoy this and it brings you back to the good ol’ days like it did for me!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.