Food Network Lite's Blog

September 26, 2010

Giada De Laurentiis’ Rosemary Mushroom Gravy

I’m a huge gravy fan. Whether it goes on pasta, meat or potatoes, I’m all for it. Giada makes a rosemary mushroom gravy that is to die for! I had to push my partner out of the kitchen or he would have eaten it all before it was even out of the pan! But I knew if I didn’t make some changes, I wouldn’t be able to enjoy it whenever I wanted to – and neither would Steve. We now enjoy this on all kinds of meats and potatoes. This is a winner!

Unlike your crazy neighbors, we’ve moved! We have a new page Thindulge, where we recreate all your favorite recipes, not just from Food Network, to be guilt free and now gluten free as well! Visit our YouTube page, like us on Facebook, follow us on Twitter @Thindulge and see us on Pinterest!

ROSEMARY MUSHROOM GRAVYAnthony J. Caruso

INGREDIENTS

Olive oil cooking spray

2 large or 4 small shallots, minced

2 cups assorted mushrooms, such as cremini, shiitake and button, coarsely chopped

Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper

1/2 cup dry Marsala wine

1 1/2 cups low-sodium beef stock

1 1/2 tablespoons chopped fresh rosemary leaves

1 1/2 tablespoons white whole wheat flour

2 tablespoons light butter spread, at room temperature

DIRECTIONS

Spray a large skillet with cooking spray and heat  over medium-high heat. Add the shallots and mushrooms. Cook until the shallots are soft, about 5 minutes, and season with salt and pepper, to taste. Add the wine and scrape up the brown bits that cling to the bottom of the pan with a wooden spoon. Cook until most of the liquid has evaporated, about 2 minutes. Stir in the beef broth and rosemary. Whisk in the flour until smooth. Bring the mixture to a boil. Reduce the heat to a simmer and cook, stirring occasionally, until half of the liquid has evaporated and the sauce has thickened slightly, about 10 minutes. Season with salt and pepper, to taste. Remove the pan from the heat and stir in the butter until smooth.

Here’s the skinny:

First, I used cooking spray instead of olive oil, saving a lot of fat there.

Next, I used white whole wheat flour to thicken the gravy instead of all-purpose flour. That way, you get all the whole grain benefits and you’ll never notice the difference!

Lastly, I cut out the butter and used a light butter spread. Also, I cut 1/3 of the butter Giada calls for, saving a total of almost 90% of the saturated fat of butter.

1 Comment »

  1. I have to chime in on this one. I told Anthony it was so good I’d eat it over ice cream. He got out the vanilla ice cream to dare me…so I took a big ol spoon full and covered it with gravy. Ya know what? It was good!

    Comment by Steven Busby — September 28, 2010 @ 9:49 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.